Weeks 2-4

Hello, hello!

While this past week was a bit boring, I’ve been having lots of London Adventures.  As I mentioned last time I took an epic walking tour of London.  Now, a smart person about to embark on a 6 hour walking tour of London would start right at the beginning and wear shoes that were already broken in and not bring along a heavy messenger bag.  I, however, am not smart.  It was a beautiful day, so I thought why not hit up the Olympic Shop before it closed in Hyde Park and then check out Buckingham Palace.  After that lovely adventure I took the tube to the beginning of my journey.  The actual walking tour took me about 5 1/2 hour, including a stop for lunch and a hunt for water.  With my added adventure I was walking for 8 hours, in shoes that are now fully broken in, good times.  So yeah, walking tour was a lot of fun.  Not only did it take you to fun Harry Potter film locations, but you get to see pretty much all the major London landmarks as well.  Also, super cool, on one of the bridges that was in Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban they were filming for The Fast and the Furious 6.  There are pictures coming soon.

Last weekend was pretty busy.  On Thursday I saw War Horse.  It was a really great show.  The puppets are ridiculous.  There was a small thing sitting next to me and she slept the entire time.  I don’t know how she managed it.  Friday morning I got up early to get day tickets to Sweeney Todd.  I’m really happy I got to see the show before it closed (Saturday).  The cast was excellent and I still can’t even think about eating a meat pie.  In other news, muscle memory is a funny thing.  Saturday morning was a group trip to the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.  The building is most impressive and there are really nice ceilings.  Post FCO tour a group of us went to Chipotle and enjoyed the American-Mexican classic called the burrito.

On Monday I spent the rainy day at the Imperial War Museum with an English friend.  We went on the Blitz Experience and learned about home life during WWII.  A couple of uplifting hours were spent walking through the Holocaust exhibit and learning about ethnic cleansing around the world.  Ok, maybe not the most uplifting things, but as I’m an IR student and she’s going into a program looking into the media, war and public opinion (I think that’s what it is about, but I might be making things up), we had a good time.  There is also an exhibit about English war heros.  After the museum we tried to find a pub, but as it was in between lunch and dinner times and the pubs we passed looked sketchy we went to Wagamama.  Even though there is Wagamama in Boston, I had never been, so it was an excellent adventure.

The rest of this week has been a bit lack-luster.  I started a job on campus, but I haven’t put too much effort into it yet because I was pretty focused on my first grad school presentation.  Overall it went well, I spoke in coherent sentences the entire time, and I answered the professors questions well.  Also, this week I bought some new jeans because my old ones got holes in them.  I’ve been to a couple events at Chatham House so far, most recently this past week.  Oh, and I’ve finally made it into a couple pubs.  Coming up next week, the University is hosting an Oktoberfest event.  Until I’m going to hit the books to relearn all about The Great War and start a paper for my Global Political Economy class.  Massive fun times ahead.

One thought on “Weeks 2-4

  1. sounds so exciting Jess!! glad you’re getting around town & getting to see some plays too. Didn’t know they had Wagamama’s in Boston – remember the one in London was good though! Also loved to grab bites from Pret A Manger. If I could only remember where it was, there’s a spot called Benji’s that had great tomato soup & grilled cheese 🙂 And you should check out the Church Pub…in Muswell Hill perhaps?? Oh..to be a student in London again… : )

What do you think?

